Boost Emotional Resilience Through Lightheartedness

Blake Alan
3 min readMar 24, 2022
Photo by Katrina Cimmermane at Kat.eye.visuals

I used to think that being light-hearted meant being aloof or that I don’t care about anything, but that’s not true.

I’ve learned it’s one of the best ways to build resilience because its nature is like water. It’s flexible, adaptable, and it flows.

Lightheartedness means letting go while being totally aware and engaged in the moment so that I can respond with the best of myself.

Lighten Up To Build Resilience

Resilience and lightheartedness seemed like an odd couple to me at first.

I think this is because, like many of us, I grew up seeing resilience represented in media. It almost always portrayed someone with a strong rigid resistance and an extremely serious attitude.

After a while, I realized acting that way was bringing me more pain than peace. It looks cool in movies, but it sucks in real life.

I can’t tell you how many times a heavy heart had me overwhelmed and drowning in emotions while wrestling with my mind and its stories. This state definitely weakens my resilience.

It creates a “trial by fire” lifestyle that makes everything unnecessarily difficult. Doing anything with a heavy heart is a lot like trying to get to the top of a hill while pushing a…

--

--

Blake Alan

Overthinker on a spiritual journey. Mindfulness practitioner/coach. You can reach me at blakealancoach@gmail.com